February 5, 2020

Josiane Blanc, Caroline Cox, and Lauren Grant among 2020 Hot Docs funding recipients

Hot Docs production funds provide Canadian and international documentary projects with development, production and completion grants, as well as valuable professional development opportunities.

Congrats to the following WIFT-T members!

Hot Docs Ted Rogers Fund

Established in 2016 with a gift from the Rogers Foundation, the $1-million fund provides financial support to Canadian documentary filmmakers.

Caroline Cox, director, Food For The Rest of Us (produced by Tiffany Ayalik, Jerri Thrasher, Stuart Henderson

Marginalized groups from across North America use farming and land-based living as a form of activism, fighting back against oppressive systems by writing their own rules for survival.

Read more: Hot Docs Ted Rogers Fund Awards Four Projects

CrossCurrents Canada Doc Fund

Established in 2018 with the support of Netflix, the CrossCurrents Canada Doc Fund supports a diversity of voices and perspectives with the goal of building a more vibrant, representative and sustainable industry.

Lauren Grant, producer, OJIIBIKAAN: Food As Medicine (also produced by Lisa Jackson and directed by Rémy Huberdeau & Sean Stiller)

Follow five Anishinaabe change-makers whose life passions center on revitalizing relationships with local plants and animals in order to heal and strengthen community. This knowledge may be important for all of us in the face of climate change.

Josiane Blanc, director, Words Left Unspoken (produced by Dominic Desjardins)

After avoiding speaking at all cost for over two decades, Joze Piranian, a severe stutterer, decides to confront his fears.

Read More: CrossCurrents Canada Doc Fund Awards $150,000 to 10 Canadian Projects

Nourish your spirit with more stories of WIFT-T and women in action:
The 11th annual WIFT-T Showcase will celebrate nine compelling new works that will make you laugh, cry and think.
Dianna Bodnar and Andrew Pope awarded Ontario Creates funding for web series, Down to Earth
Dianna and Andrew were among 9 content creators selected for the inaugural WIFT-T Ontario Creates IDM Fund: Futures program in 2018.
Sonia Brar and Cheryl Fullerton announced as 2020 Women in Communications and Technology award recipients
Sonia and Cheryl will receive their awards at the WCT Leadership Excellence Awards on May 7th at the National Arts Centre in Ottawa.