October 24, 2017

Honouring Legacies, Shaping Futures: 2017 WIFT-T Crystal Awards winners announced

Since 1988, WIFT-T has honoured over 130 industry trailblazers for their excellence in creativity, innovation, and leadership in Canada’s screen-based media industry (film, television and digital media).
“The Crystal Awards is the hallmark of WIFT-T’s legacy. For three decades, we’ve prioritized the recognition and celebration of women’s achievements; and the men who mentor, support, and advocate for women. 30 years ago when women were rendered invisible in the industry, WIFT-T led the way by illuminating the monumental contributions of women that significantly shape and advance Canada’s screen-based industry. We’re thrilled to add five more women to this esteemed legacy. These women have broken ground, demonstrated incredible visionary insight, and are an inspiration to their peers, audiences, and the next generation of women in the industry.”

~Heather Webb, Executive Director, WIFT-T

Creative Excellence Award

Mary Harron, Director/Writer/Executive Producer

This award honours a woman for the dynamic quality of her work in screen-based media. Her recent work has received national and/or international attention and has established a standard for those working in her field

Mentorship Award

Karen Walton, Writer/Executive Producer & President, inkling entertainment inc. & Founder/Admin, inkcanada

This award is presented to a woman or man who has made an outstanding contribution to building women’s careers in screen-based media. She or he supports the advancement of women, offers guidance and support, and helps female entrepreneurs grow their own media companies.

Outstanding Achievement in Business Award

Mary Bredin, EVP of Content & Strategy, Guru Studio

This award recognizes women who have made a major contribution screen-based media – film, television and/or digital media – from the perspective of enterprise development through the consistent quality of their work throughout their career. Through personal example and leadership, they have inspired and set standards for industry colleagues working in the screen-based industry.

Digital Trailblazer Award

Diane Williamson, President, Digital Wizards

This award is presented to a woman in recognition of her significant contribution to Canada’s digital screen-based industry as demonstrated by her creativity and leadership; including but not limited to, idea generation, content creation, distribution, audience engagement and funding models.

Special Jury Award of Distinction

Tonya Williams, Actor/Producer/Director and President, Wilbo Entertainment; Founder, ReelWorld Film Festival

This award is presented at the discretion of the jury to a trailblazing woman who is committed to the screen-based industry. The winner is dedicated to building a vibrant, diverse, and active creative community.

Thank you to our 2017 jury: Tecca Crosby, Senior Vice President, Creative Affairs, Entertainment One Television; Lalita Krishna, Producer, In Sync Media; and Christina Piovesan, President and Producer, First Generation Films. The Crystal Awards jury is made up of past Crystal Award winners.

WIFT-T thanks the 2017 Crystal Awards’ Presenting Partners: NBCUniversal and Deluxe Toronto; Reception Sponsor, Entertainment One; and Supporting Partners: City of Toronto and Super Channel for their support.

The Crystal Awards is Women in Film & Television–Toronto’s (WIFT-T) annual tribute to women working in the Canadian screen-based industry, as well as the men who champion them. 

The 30th Annual Crystal Awards Gala luncheon, hosted by Marci Ien (co-host, The Social, CTV) will take place on December 5, 2017 at the Arcadian Court, 401 Bay Street, Toronto, Ontario.